On the Wallaby

by burrowyestation

When Joe was four months old, like Dora, we started travelling. By the time he was speaking he was asking for nights in “hoe tails”. Last Thursday we stayed at The Georgian in Albury. Joe voted it his best hoe tail ever – two rooms and a spa, big breakfast, kind staff. Dora Dora had fun too.

image

 

We had some time to kill in Circular Quay…I queued at the Luna Park ticket booth and missed our ferry. We had all been wondering why tall people had to pay more. James caught up on some work. Joe, Dora and I took a spin around the MCA. We saw a couple of Japanese artists – cartoon projections into space. It has been a long time since I was moved by anything in a gallery. We emerged after four point five minutes. An African guy smiled at me from his seat on a wall. He was looking at my Penelope Durston wax print dress. “My mother has so many of those dresses!” He said. “I’ve just got one, but it makes me happy!” I replied. Bold, roomy and shape shifting when you layer it, I love it.

 

image

Everything really lit up on the ferry ride. Joe ran round and round the deck, Dora was mesmerised and James played Skyscraper Cowboy.

image

image

We  got off at Hunters Hill, and read about The Great Northern Walk from Sydney to Newcastle.  We were inspired to do it.

image

image

image

We took a minute to study this sign. Part of this trip has been about coming to terms with our deep disillusionment with mainstream schools. Apparently “home school” in Victoria has more pupils than any other.  I wonder if we’ll be seeing more of these signs about the place….image

The reason for our trip – Gurrumul at The Opera House. Our kids were the only ones in the audience. He sang about “the octopus” of eight family dreamings. Deep ceremony for us. We wonder about our responsibilities to community and family and the pain we share with them. We wonder how long this walkabout will last and how far it will take us. I can still feel the music playing in my cells.
image

The view from the balcony at the house of my second cousin once removed. Ah Sydney you are a beautiful monster.image

                                                                                    Time to do a little needle work…

image

Treats for the eye, nose and soul….

image

 

image
image

